EBO-SFO Joint Symposium on Ocular Infections

Review these presentations from the SFO/EBO joint symposium on Ocular Infections, which was held on Saturday May 4th, 14:15 – 15:35, during the SFO Meeting in Paris.   Chairs: B. Bodaghi (Paris), T. Bourcier (Strasbourg)     Renata IVEKOVIC Orbital infections     Arnaud SAUER Ocular toxoplasmosis     Antoine ROUSSEAU Herpes and zoster keratitis […]

EBO Comprehensive Exam Preparation Workshop

To help candidates prepare for the 2024 comprehensive EBO exam, the EBO organised a preparation workshop, based on feedback from surveys we have conducted.  In this workshop, we explored some key issues in retina, uveitis and posterior segment. We invited a pan-European faculty of experts in retina, uveitis and the posterior segment, who will cover […]

Free Webinar – Exam Preparations Series

Update from the European Board of Ophthalmology

Comprehensive European Board of Ophthalmology Diploma Exam The European Board of Ophthalmology Diploma (EBOD) exam was the original exam run by the EBO for over 20 years. The exam is intended to further the mission of the EBO to harmonize the knowledge and training of ophthalmologists across Europe. This communication outlines an update to our […]

Applications for EBO Autumn Online Exam 2024: NOW CLOSED

Applications for the EBO Autumn Online Exam on October 18th are now Closed Application deadline: Friday May 10th at 18.00 CEST


To the European Board of Ophthalmology.

The European Board of Ophthalmology (EBO) was founded in 1992 in London. It is a permanent working group of the Ophthalmology Subspecialty Section of the European Union of Medical Specialists (UEMS).

The Board has specifically been given the task of overseeing the standards of education in ophthalmology in Europe (UEMS Countries) with the goal of harmonizing knowledge and training by four means: the EBO exam, accreditation of centres , CME control and Grants.

The National Delegates of the Board include clinicians and academicians with specific ophthalmological skills, expertise and a broad geographic distribution. Two delegates are nominated from each country of the European Union, Norway, Turkey, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom, by the National Ophthalmological Societies. One delegate represents academic ophthalmology and one represents the professional practitioners. The delegates are chosen for a four year term. One additional four-year term is permitted.

Tristan Bourcier, MD, PhD

EBO President

Latest Updates from EBO

Recent news and information updates

Subscribe to our updates & instant alerts | Enter email below

EVER Logo SOE Logo UEMS Logo ICIO Logo