EBO Diploma Preparation Workshops (New in 2023) Recording Now available

The recordings of the EBO Exam Workshop held on May 6th 2023 are now available:         As in the last two years, Spring and Autumn EBOD exams will be held online in 2023 on May 12th and October 13th, respectively. We are therefore very pleased to invite the 2023 candidates to EBO […]

EBO Autumn Exam, Online, October 13th 2023

Applications for the Autumn EBO Online Exam on October 13th 2023 are now closed. Application Deadline: April 3rd 2023 23.59 CEST

FEBOS Glaucoma Exam 2023

The FEBOS Glaucoma Exam will be held in Vienna on Thursday September 7th, 2023. Applications for the FEBOS Glaucoma Exam 2023 are now closed: EBO-EGS Subspecialty Exam | (ebo-online.org) Application Deadline: May 31st 2023

FEBOS Cataract & Refractive Exam 2023

Applications for the FEBOS CR Exam 2023 are now closed: EBO-ESCRS Subspecialty Exam | (ebo-online.org) The FEBOS CR Exam will be held on Monday 11th September 2023 in Vienna. Application Deadline: March 31st 2023

EBO-EURETINA Subspecialty Exam 2023

General Information The EBO and Euretina have come together to develop the FEBOS-R qualification. The purpose of this qualification is to harmonise the standard of expected knowledge and clinical acumen for retina specialists across Europe. The exam will assess candidates’ ability to manage a retina clinic. It could be seen as an “exit” exam, that […]


To the European Board of Ophthalmology.

The European Board of Ophthalmology (EBO) was founded in 1992 in London. It is a permanent working group of the Ophthalmology Subspecialty Section of the European Union of Medical Specialists (UEMS).

The Board has specifically been given the task of overseeing the standards of education in ophthalmology in Europe (UEMS Countries) with the goal of harmonizing knowledge and training by four means: the EBO exam, accreditation of centres , CME control and Grants.

The National Delegates of the Board include clinicians and academicians with specific ophthalmological skills, expertise and a broad geographic distribution. Two delegates are nominated from each country of the European Union, Norway, Turkey and Switzerland by the National Ophthalmological Societies. One delegate represents academic ophthalmology and one represents the professional practitioners. The delegates are chosen for a four year term. One additional four-year term is permitted.

Tristan Bourcier, MD, PhD

EBO President

Latest Updates from EBO

Recent news and information updates

Subscribe to our updates & instant alerts | Enter email below

EVER Logo SOE Logo UEMS Logo ICIO Logo